The Governing Board is the executive body of the Centre. It is responsible for the implementation of the Objectives of the Centre, as established by the Statutes and the decisions of the Assembly. The Governing Board has 5 members who are elected and recalled by the Assembly. The term of the members of the Governing Board is 4 years. They can be re-elected to the same position.

Members of the Governing Board are: 

Vesna PesicDr Vesna Pešić, sociologist. She was a senior science associate at the Institute of Philosophy and Social Theory. She is the founder of numerous peace and human rights organizations, including, in 1991, the Centre for Antiwar Action – the first antiwar organization in Serbia. She has resided at the United States Institute of Peace, founded by the US Congress in recognition of contribution to the development of democracy and civil society. Her many honors include the Award for Democracy of the U.S. National Foundation for Democracy (1993), the W. Averell Harriman Award of the U.S. National Institute for Democracy (1997) from Washington D.C., the Andrei Sakharov Award from the Norwegian Helsinki Committee and the Sakharov Foundation for Freedom (1997) and the City of Esslingen Human Rights Prize for political courage and sincerity (2001). She is praised as ‘”contributor in developing democracy and civil society”‘ from Institute of Peace, founded by United States Congress. In 1997, she was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. She was the President of the Civic Alliance of Serbia from 1992 to 1998, one of the leaders of the democratic coalition ‘Together’ and a member of parliament from 1993 to 1997. She has published many scientific works and has taken part in numerous scientific events in the fields of sociology, democracy and human rights in Serbia and abroad.

Milos StojkovicMiloš Stojković, lawyer, graduated from the Law School Belgrade University in 2007. Passed bar exam and admitted to the Belgrade Bar Chamber in 2015. Expert in the field of media, telecommunications, personal data protection, copy rights and advertising. From 2008-2012, stint with the Ministry of Telecommunications and Information Society, where he was a Legal advisor and a Head of regulatory department in the Sector for electronic communications. Participated in a number of working groups drafting laws and regulations in the field of media, telecommunications and advertising. External consultant of SHARE foundation. Member of the legal team of the Association of Independent Electronic Media (ANEM). 

Vesna PetrovicDr Vesna Petrović received her Bachelors degree in 1978 and her Masters degree in 1988 from the University of Belgrade’s Faculty of Law. She received her Doctoral degree from the Law Faculty at Union University. She passed the judicial exam in 1982. In addition to her regular work in the Archives of Serbia and teaching in the field of archivist work, she also became engaged early on in human rights protection with the Yugoslav Forum for Human Rights, the first organization of its kind in Yugoslavia. She was active with the Centre for Anti-War action, where she spent several years leading a helpline for human rights victims. From 2001 to 2004, she held the position of Chief Cabinet Minister of Foreign Affairs of Serbia and Montenegro. As one of the founders of the Belgrade Centre for Human Rights, she has represented the Centre in numerous international gatherings, and has edited several books on human rights. 


Igor Bandović is the director of the Belgrade Centre for Security Policy since November 2019. Before joining the BCSP, he was working as a Senior Programme Manager for the European Fund for the Balkans and was is in charge for the policy research and advocacy initiatives within the Fund, including the coordination of the “Balkans in Europe Policy Advisory Group” and think tank support programmes. He was managing the “Gallup Balkan Monitor”, regional public opinion survey which was conducted through partnership with Gallup Europe (2009-2011). Igor also worked for the different international organisations, including International Organisation for Migration and United Nations Development Programme (2006-2008). From 2002 to 2006, Igor worked at the Belgrade Centre for Human Rights where his research priorities were human rights education, international criminal law and the reconciliation. Igor’s engagement in civil society movement started in 1997, when he established “Libergraf,”the nongovernmental organization which has dealt with the public education, the promotion of human rights and civic activism. He studied international law and international relations at the University of Belgrade and University Union, Belgrade, Serbia.

nenadNenad Petković holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Law and is an attorney at law. He has also completed the Diplomatic Academy in Belgrade. Nenad is currently completing his PhD studies at the Belgrade-based UNION University Law School. Nenad has specialised in international human rights law and actively focused on social inclusion and human rights since 2016. He has been working as a UNDP Social Inclusion and Gender Equality Project Manager since 2016. He previously worked in the non-government sector, state institutions and international organisations, including as a BCHR associate. He was involved in establishing and managing associations focusing on HIV/AIDS prevention, availability of treatment and support to people living with HIV. He worked for OSCE and the Ministry of Human and Minority Rights on the establishment of a separate voter register and elections of National Minority Councils. In the 2010-2014 period, Nenad was a senior advisor in the office of the Serbian Agent before the European Court of Human Rights. He worked in the Anti-Corruption Agency in the 2014-2016 period. Nenad has been engaged as a consultant on various human rights projects. He is a certified human rights trainer and project manager and author of several publications and surveys on human rights, HIV/AIDS and inclusion of vulnerable groups.